Single-day poll in Uttarakhand, Goa today; BJP and Congress in close fight

14th Feb 2022                          – Eshita 

In the poll-bound states of Uttarakhand and Goa, the Congress is expected to compete in a tight race. On Monday, both states will vote in a single round. The two states’ high-octane campaigns have levelled the playing field. Regional parties are also attempting to gain traction in states where the two parties have historically controlled. In Goa, the Trinamul Congress and the AAP had vigorous campaigns. In Goa, the TMC was able to attract several candidates from other parties, whilst the AAP is campaigning on the promise of a corruption-free administration. The AAP has been campaigning in Uttarakhand for a few months and has attracted politicians from other parties as well. Ministerial leadership of the AAP

The AAP has been campaigning in Uttarakhand for a few months and has attracted politicians from other parties as well. Ajay Kothiyal, the AAP’s chief ministerial candidate, is running in Gangotri.

The Congress and the BJP have had a free exchange of leaders in Uttarakhand’s 70-member Assembly. Harak Singh Rawat and his family, as well as Yashpal Arya and his son, were once members of the BJP government. Kishore Upadhyay, the former state unit chief of the Congress, and Sarita Arya, the state chief of the Mahila Congress, have joined the BJP. The majority mark in the 70-member Assembly is 36.

TMC celebrates big win in four municipal corporations in West Bengal, gets huge vote share in saffron base

The Trinamool Congress won all four municipal corporations in West Bengal where elections were held on February 12: Siliguri, Asansol, Bidhanagar, and Chandanagar.

Siliguri Corporation, which had been dominated by the left for a long time, was won by TMC. The BJP won MLA and MP seats from this region in the 2021 assembly elections and the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. However, BJP MLA Shankar Ghosh, who ran for Siliguri Corporation, lost his deposit this time.

TMC won 37 of the 47 wards, BJP five, the left four, and the Congress one. Mamata Banerjee, the Chief Minister of West Bengal, thanked the people for voting for the TMC and promised that the state administration will continue to strive for the cause of the common people. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close