7th Phase Tomorrow to Mark End of Fiercely Contested Polls

Author: Eshita

The stakes have reached an all-time high for prominent political players in Uttar Pradesh as the curtain comes down on the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, with only a few hours left for the last and seventh phase of vote on Monday. On March 7, a total of 54 Assembly constituencies in Purvanchal will vote, with all phases of the election being counted on March 10. Azamgarh, Mau, Jaunpur, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Bhadohi, and Sonbhadra are the districts that will vote in the final phase. All required measures have been completed for free, fair, and transparent polling in the seventh round, according to Chief Electoral Officer Ajay Kumar Shukla. A total of 613 candidates will compete in this event. In this round, a total of 613 candidates will compete for 54 seats, 11 of which are reserved for Scheduled Castes and two for Scheduled Tribes, among a voter base of roughly 2.06 crores.This last round will also put the BJP and Samajwadi Party’s agreements with small caste-based parties to the test. The BJP’s allies Apna Dal (Sonelal) and Nishad Party, as well as Akhilesh Yadav’s new pals Apna Dal (K), Om Prakash Rajbhar’s Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party (SBSP), and others, have been seeking to mobilise their followers. Previously a stronghold of the Samajwadi Party, the region witnessed the BJP make gains in 2017, capturing 29 seats with partners Apna Dal (4) and SBSP (3).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close