Election Results

The BJP has retained power in four (Manipur, Goa, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand) of the five States (Punjab, Manipur, Goa, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand) where elections were scheduled. In Punjab, Congress lost to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The BJP won two thirds of the seats and its vote share increased in U.P., Goa and Manipur. “This is a seal of approval by the people for the BJP’s pro poor, proactive governance,” Prime Minister Narendra Modi said at the party headquarters on Thursday evening. In U.P, the Samajwadi Party doubled its 2017 tally but fell far short of a majority. Akhilesh Yadav under whose leadership the election was being fought, did not comment on the results. On the other hand, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi posted on Twitter, “We will learn from this”. In Punjab, the AAP harnessed the resentment against the Congress and the Akali Dal that have been alternating in power. AAP won 92 of the 117 seats in the State. The Congress won 18 and the BJP two. AAP founder and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said. “First this revolution happened in Delhi, then in Punjab and it will now happen all over the country”. The AAP will have two Chief Ministers after Thursday’s results, which is as many as what the Congress has. The Congress’s last minute efforts to rescue its fortunes in Punjab, which elected one fifth of its Lok Sabha members, through a leadership change that brought Charanjit Singh Channi at the helm did not bear fruit. It is worth noting that leading politicians and former CMs lost the battle in Punjab this time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close