Results of the 2022 municipal elections for Delhi (MCD): AAP wins a majority and overthrows the BJP

After winning 134 out of 250 seats, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won its first electoral victory in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) elections, ending the BJP’s 15-year rule over the local government. The BJP party won 104 of the 250 seats, a significant decrease from its tally of 181 seats in the 2017 municipal elections.

A total of 73,35,825 votes were cast, of which 57,545 were marked as “NOTA.” Arvind Kejriwal, the convenor of the AAP and the Chief Minister of Delhi, spoke to the media and declared that the election-related politics were done and that it was now time to collaborate to improve Delhi.

Party officials, however, thought that this was not a setback because the BJP was able to gain more than 100 seats despite a 15-year anti-incumbency campaign.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close