Four Meghalaya MLAs switch to the BJP

In an effort to increase its presence in the northeastern area ahead of the State’s upcoming Assembly elections, the BJP welcomed four Meghalaya MLAs on December 14, including two from the National People’s Party (NPP), which is now in power in the State. 

Himanta Biswa Sarma, the chief minister of Assam and the party’s regional point man, declared that the addition of the four “experienced and respected” politicians will herald a “new beginning” for the BJP in the State, where it was only able to win two seats in the 60-member Assembly in the 2018 elections. 

Despite being a part of the BJP-led National Democratic Party, the State’s ruling NPP’s relations with it have not been good.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close