New members of the U.N. Security Council are welcomed, including two newcomers

On Tuesday, the U.N. Security Council officially welcomed Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland, who now hold the two-year seats that they won without opposition in June.

The ambassadors of the five nations on Tuesday raised their national flags beside that of other members outside the council rooms, continuing a custom that Kazakhstan inaugurated in 2018.

The permanent members of the group are China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, all of whom have veto power. The General Assembly of 193 nations elects its additional 10 members to staggered, two-year mandates. They are distributed based on world regions.

This news was written by Ms. Pujari Dharani, Research Assistant, All India Legal Forum.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close