21 Andaman and Nicobar Islands were named on Param Vir Chakra Day in honour of recipients, and a model for the projected Netaji memorial was dedicated

Prime Minister Narendra Modi honoured 21 recipients of the Param Vir Chakra by renaming 21 of the Andaman & Nicobar Islands’ largest nameless islands in honour of Parakram Diwas.
During the occasion, the model of the National Memorial honouring Netaji that will be erected on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep was also unveiled by the Prime Minister through video conference.
In 2018, Mr. Modi changed the name of the Ross Islands, which are a part of the Andaman Islands, to Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep. He also changed the names of Neil Island and Havelock Island to Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep, respectively.

This news was written by Ms. Pujari Dharani, Research Assistant, All India Legal Forum.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close